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AFFIDAVIT FOR LICENSE TO MARRY

STATE OF MICHIGAN

No. 

County of 

The Undersigned, affirm(s), depose(s) and say(s) that:

and
FULL NAME (First, Middle, Last, Suffix) ___ MALE    ___ FEMALE    ___ OTHER

SURNAME ON BIRTH CERTIFICATE, IF DIFFERENT SURNAME ON BIRTH CERTIFICATE, IF DIFFERENT

PRESENT AGE DATE OF BIRTH PRESENT AGE DATE OF BIRTH

BIRTHPLACE – CITY AND STATE (Country, if not USA) BIRTHPLACE – CITY AND STATE (Country, if not USA)

RESIDENCE NO. STREET

CITY, STATE, AND ZIP CODE (Country, if not USA)

RESIDENCE NO. STREET

CITY, STATE, AND ZIP CODE (Country, if not USA)

RESIDENCE COUNTY TIMES PREVIOUSLY MARRIED RESIDENCE COUNTY TIMES PREVIOUSLY MARRIED

FULL NAME (First, Middle, Last, Suffix) FULL NAME (First, Middle, Last, Suffix)

SURNAME AT BIRTH, IF DIFFERENT BIRTHPLACE (State or Country, if not USA) SURNAME AT BIRTH, IF DIFFERENT BIRTHPLACE (State or Country, if not USA)

FULL NAME (First, Middle, Last, Suffix) FULL NAME (First, Middle, Last, Suffix)

SURNAME AT BIRTH, IF DIFFERENT BIRTHPLACE (State or Country, if not USA) SURNAME AT BIRTH, IF DIFFERENT BIRTHPLACE (State or Country, if not USA)

intend to marry and that this affidavit is made for the purpose of obtaining a marriage license; that each of the above-

named persons are of the age of 18 years or older, required by law, are not related to the other within the degree

prohibited by statute and are of sufficient mental capacity to contract marriage; that said persons are acquainted with

the laws of the State of Michigan relative to marriage; that there is no legal impediment to said marriage; and that to the 

best knowledge and belief of the undersigned all of the foregoing statements are true.

Educational materials have been received from the county clerk regarding prenatal care and the transmission 
and prevention of sexually transmitted infection and HIV infection as well as information on the availability of 
tests for both these diseases.

Signature  Signature  

Social Security Number Social Security Number

Subscribed to before me: the County Clerk: a Notary Public of County, 

acting in  County, and whose commission expires on  , 20 ; 

or other person authorized to administer oaths, and sworn to on , 20 .

DCH-0484 (Rev. 5-25) PREVIOUS EDITION MAY BE USED. AUTHORITY: MCL 551.102

FULL NAME  (First, Middle, Last, Suffix)      ___ MALE ___ FEMALE    ___ OTHER

Signature of Authorized Person
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GETTING MARRIED IN MICHIGAN?  WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW….

Who can marry….
To be able to marry you must not be married to someone else. (MCL 551.5)  If you have been married before, you may 
be asked to document that the earlier marriage has ended due to death, divorce or annulment.

To obtain a Michigan marriage license the couple must be 18 years of age or older and be able to enter into legal 
contracts.  (MCL 551.103)

As proof of age, the person who intends to be married, in addition to the statement of age in the application, when
requested by the county clerk, shall submit a birth certificate or other proof of age.

Where to apply and where to marry….
If either of the couple are Michigan residents, they must apply with the county clerk where one or both have legal 
residence.  Once the license is issued, Michigan residents can marry anywhere in the state.  (MCL 551.101)

If neither of the couple lives in Michigan, they must apply with the county clerk where the marriage ceremony is to be 
performed.  Once issued, the license can be used only in the issuing county.  (MCL 551.101)

In either case, the use of a Michigan License is not valid outside the State of Michigan.

Who can you marry….
There are restrictions on who someone can marry. (MCL 551.3 and 551.4) 

An individual shall not marry the individual's parent, sibling, grandparent, child, grandchild, stepparent, grandparent's 
spouse, child's spouse, grandchild's spouse, spouse's parent, spouse's grandparent, spouse's child, spouse's grandchild,
sibling's child, parent's sibling, or cousin of the first degree.

The three day waiting period….
Generally, a marriage license is not issued for a period of three days from the date of the application.  Applicants can, 
however, request a waiver of the three day waiting period from the clerk issuing the license. (MCL 551.103a)

How to sign your name on the marriage license....
Please sign your current legal name on the Affidavit for License to Marry form. 

If you are planning on changing your name after the marriage ceremony, then you may print and sign your full (First, 
Middle, Last, Suffix) name the way you plan to use it on the Certificate of Marriage at the bottom of the document.
Certified marriage certificates may be used as evidence of a name change.

Special notice of perjury...
Note that the application for a marriage license is a sworn affidavit.  Making false statements in the marriage license 
affidavit is an act of perjury which is a prosecutable offense. (MCL 551.108)
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