A Regular Meeting of the Board of Delta County Road Commissioners was held on Tuesday, January 26, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. at the Main Office, 3000 32nd Avenue North, Escanaba, Michigan. The Board Meeting was accessible to the public via GoToMeeting Conference Call.

Chairman Aschbacher called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance & a moment of silence for the passing of Larry Leonarduzzi, an Iron County Road Commission worker struck on the job on January 13, 2021.

PRESENT: Chairman Bob Aschbacher, Vice-Chairman Randy Bjork, Commissioner Mark Asselin, Commissioner Dustin Stempki, and Commissioner Dennis Stanek.

ABSENT: None

Chairman Aschbacher moved to approve the Agenda as printed.

Chairman Aschbacher moved to approve the minutes of the January 12th, 2020 Regular Meeting as proposed.

Manager Jody Norman gave an administration update:

Employees continue to clear and trim brush along the right of way on the MDOT system. The Road Commission has obtained a new mini excavator, it was out in the field today & worked well per Jody. It will reduce stumbling around brush as they clear it, making it much safer for employees. Last week a rock saw was brought in to dig a trench to solve a water problem on CR E-5 (Rivers Rd) in Cornell Township, water shouldn't go over the road anymore. A new cross pipe will be needed in the future. Our employees have also been patching, repairing signs & cleaning the facility. Along with working with the skid steer and mulcher on US2 & 41. At the Ensign Garage, there was a problem installing the new gate, Billy Electric is working to repair it, a new powerline out to the gate will be needed. The bids for the old Wells Garage are going out tomorrow, 1/27/21, per Rory Mattson. The Union Contract was voted on this past Thursday & passed with the union members. Cornell Township's request to have Truax Rd (CR E-18) seal coated this year along with the Road Commission's main priority of rebuilding Woodlawn (CR E-2), due to its condition, was discussed. A contract for Cornell to reimburse over a two-year period will be drawn up.

Policy #21 – Energized Power Line & Policy #22 – Lock Out Tag Out were reviewed. No changes were made at this time.

It was moved by Commissioner Asselin, seconded by Commissioner Stempki to approve Bills Payable Voucher No. 2565 in the amount of \$288,753.27 & Payroll Voucher No. 69123 in the amount of \$69,607.51 as presented and reviewed.

Roll Call Vote:

Vice-Chairman Bjork

Chairman Aschbacher

Commissioner Asselin

Commissioner Stanek

Commissioner Stempki

It was moved by Commissioner Stanek, seconded by Vice-Chairman Bjork to authorize Manager Jody Norman to sign the two-year contract with the UP Engineers.

Ayes
$$-5$$
 Nays -0

It was moved by Commissioner Asselin, seconded by Commissioner Stanek to approve the Project / Material Agreement for the Village of Garden.

Ayes
$$-5$$
 Nays -0

It was moved by Chairman Aschbacher, seconded by Vice-Chairman Bjork to authorize out of county travel for the New Commissioner's Workshop in Gaylord, MI as well as for the Scale Inspections in Lansing, MI.

Commissioner Stanek offered the following resolution and Commissioner Asselin seconded its adoption:

Whereas, It is the intent of the Delta County Road Commission to add County Road A-45 to the Act 51 Map. The centerline begins on the south line of Sec. 33, T37N, R24W at the centerline of M35 then continuing east on the Menominee / Delta County line 0.23 miles to the end.

Whereas, County Road A-45 is located within the right of way under Delta County Road Commission control & has been maintained by the Road Commission for the past 20 years.

Whereas, the use of County Road A-45 is for public road purposes.

Now Therefore Be It Resolved, that the Delta County Board of Road Commissioners authorizes & accepts County Road A-45 into the Act 51 System and continues to be open for the use of automobile traffic.

Ayes
$$-5$$
 Nays -0

Resolution Declared Adopted

There being no further business to come before the board at this time, Chairman Aschbacher moved to adjourn the meeting at 5:26 pm.

Robert Aschbacher, Chairman	Samantha Grau, Deputy County Clerk