A Regular Meeting of the Board of the Delta County Road Commissioners was held on Tuesday, January 23, 2024 at 3:30 p.m. at the Main Office, 3000 32<sup>nd</sup> Avenue North, Escanaba, Michigan.

Chairman Aschbacher called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

PRESENT: Chairman Aschbacher, Commissioner Stanek, Commissioner Mark Asselin,

Vice-Chairman Stempki and Commissioner Bjork

ABSENT: None

Chairman Aschbacher moved to approve the agenda as printed.

Chairman Aschbacher moved to approve the minutes of the January 9<sup>th</sup> 2024, Regular Meeting as proposed.

Escanaba City Manager, Jim McNeil, gave a brief presentation on the city's retirement plan after leaving MERS.

It was moved by Vice-Chairman Stempki, seconded by Commissioner Asselin to approve Bills Payable Voucher No. 2639 in the amount of \$200,026.37. Along with Payroll Voucher No. 69201 in the amount of \$86,978.05.

## Roll Call Vote:

Chairman Aschbacher – Yes

Vice-Chairman Stempki – Yes

Commissioner Stanek – Yes

Commissioner Asselin – Yes

Commissioner Bjork – Yes

It was moved by Vice-Chairman Stempki, seconded by Commissioner Bjork to vote for Doug Mills for the CRA Board of Directors seat that represents the Upper Peninsula Road Builders Association.

Ayes 
$$-5$$
 Nays  $-0$ 

The following resolution was offered by Commissioner Asselin, seconded by Vice-Chairman Stempki:

**BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Delta County Road Commission approves the following adjustments to the following roads on our Certification Map (*these changes were effective as of December 31, 2023*):

Street Name	Township	Section	Map Sheet	From	То	Change in Length	Total Length
Alley	Wells Twp.	18	C-1B	2 <sup>nd</sup> Ave.	N. 1st Str.	+0.05	0.05
N. 2 <sup>nd</sup> Str.	Wells Twp.	18	C-1B	Main Str.	N. to end	+.06	0.16
S. 2 <sup>nd</sup> Str.	Wells Twp.	18	C-1B	Main Str.	S. to end	+.12	0.28
F-9	Brampton Twp.	22	F-2	CR-186	N. to Twp. Line	+0.06	0.46
F-9	Baldwin Twp.	15	G-1	S. Twp. Line	N. to end	+0.03	0.03

H-20	Maple Ridge Twp.	27	H-3	H-1	E. to end	+0.06	0.25
I-22	Masonville Twp.	23,24, 13	I-2	CR-509	E. to FR-2235	+1.2	2.79
I-22	Masonville Twp.	18 & 19	I-1	CR-509	E. to FR-2235	+0.74	0.74

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Board of the Delta County Road Commission has jurisdiction and control over the aforementioned roads and right-of-way for public road purposes; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that Notice of Determination of the Board to adopt and take over the above-mentioned roads as the portion of the county road system of the County of Delta for Act 51 Transportation funds prior to December 31, 2023, and is open to automobile traffic.

Ayes 
$$-5$$
 Nays  $-0$ 

## **RESOLUTION DECLARED ADOPTED**

Under Public Comments Delta County Board Liaison John Malnar gave an update on the county.

At 4:30 p.m. it was moved by Commissioner Bjork, seconded by Commissioner Stanek to go into closed session under section 8(1)(e) of the Open Meetings Act, for union contract negotiations.

Roll Call Vote:

Commissioner Bjork - Yes

Chairman Aschbacher – Yes

Commissioner Asselin - Yes

Commissioner Stanek – Yes

Vice-Chairman Stempki – Yes

The contract was discussed, but no decisions were made.

It was moved by Commissioner Bjork, seconded by Vice-Chairman Stempki to return to the regular meeting at 4:45 p.m.

Roll Call Vote:

Commissioner Bjork – Yes

Chairman Aschbacher - Yes

Commissioner Asselin – Yes

Commissioner Stanek - Yes

Vice-Chairman Stempki – Yes

There being no further business to come before the board at this time, Chairman Aschbacher moved to adjourn the meeting at 4:47 p.m.

Bob Aschbacher, Chairman	Samantha Grau, Deputy County Clerk